Sunday, October 29, 2017 2:00PM
Copley Symphony Hall

Not On Sale

A Jacobs Masterworks Concert

Cristian Măcelaru, conductor
Nicola Benedetti, violin

BIZET: Suite No. 1 from Carmen
WYNTON MARSALIS: Violin Concerto in D Major
RIMSKY-KORSAKOV: Scheherazade, Op. 35

Proving there are no limits to true musical genius, the San Diego Symphony is pleased to offer this performance of Wynton Marsalis’ critically acclaimed Violin Concerto featuring the original soloist (violinist Nicola Benedetti) and the original conductor (Cristian Măcelaru) from last summer’s American premiere in Ravinia. The concerto, featuring bluegrass and jazz elements, is bookended by passionate masterpieces centered on feminine mystique by Georges Bizet and Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov.

The San Diego Union-Tribune has just published an interview with violinist Nicola Benedetti who discusses working with composer Wynton Marsalis and the lost art of classical improvisation.

Here is a video composed in anticipation of the recent American premiere of Wynton Marsalis' Violin Concerto with violinist Nicola Benedetti and conductor Cristian Măcelaru:

Want to pre-pay for your concert parking? SpotHero is the nation’s leading parking reservation app to book convenient and affordable parking.

To reserve your parking spot, visit the Copley Symphony Hall SpotHero Parking Page and book a spot with rates up to 50% off drive-up.

New to SpotHero? Download the SpotHero iPhone | Android app.