Saturday, May 13, 2017 8:00PM
Copley Symphony Hall

Not On Sale

A Jacobs Masterworks Concert

Matthias Pintscher, conductor
Kirill Gerstein, piano

WEBERN: Im Sommerwind
BARTÓK: Piano Concerto No. 3
SCHUMANN: Symphony No. 1 in B-flat Major, Op. 38: Spring

Bright music for these brightest of seasons! Anton Webern's Im Sommerwind is literally as fresh as a summer breeze off San Diego Bay, and Robert Schumann's Spring Symphony is bursting with the joy and possibilities of blooming nature and youth. The core of this concert, however, is Béla Bartók’s Piano Concerto No. 3. It is the most striking, tender fruit of his own unexpected indian summer of creativity, as well as a beautiful legacy gift for his pianist wife, Ditta.

This concert is led by rising young German conductor/composer, Matthias Pintscher, and the Bartók concerto is performed by Gilmore Artist Award-winner, pianist Kirill Gerstein. The San Diego Union-Tribune recently interviewed Mr. Pintscher about his career and these upcoming performances!

Join us for Nuvi Mehta's highly informative "What's The Score?" pre-concert talk, beginning 45 minutes before downbeat. This presentation is free with your ticket, and takes place inside the concert hall.

Want to pre-pay for your concert parking?:

We have partnered with Parking Panda, the nationwide leader in online parking reservations, to allow you to search and reserve parking before your concert or on the go. View real-time availability and pricing at many convenient locations within easy walking distance to the Jacobs Music Center. Simply select the event you are attending or update the calendar to fit your schedule to view parking. Need assistance booking? Call Parking Panda at (800)232-6415!

Copley Symphony Hall Parking