Sunday, December 10, 2017 2:00PM
Copley Symphony Hall

Not On Sale

A Jacobs Masterworks Concert

Johannes Debus, conductor
Rose Lombardo, flute
Julie Smith Phillips, harp

HUMPERDINCK: Prelude to Hänsel und Gretel
MOZART: Concerto in C Major for Flute and Harp, K. 299 (297c)
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13: Winter Daydreams

Don’t be fooled! Though Piotr Tchaikovsky’s very first symphony carries a wintry nickname, the music has enough youthful energy, rhythm and fire to dispel any chill that December brings to San Diego. Opening the concert, conducted by a returning Johannes Debus, is the charming, innocent prelude from Engelbert Humperdinck’s famous children’s opera, Hänsel und Gretel. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s elegant, lyrical Concerto for Flute and Harp, originally written for a father and daughter who were Mozart’s patrons, features our two principals, respectively, of those instruments.

This concert's guest conductor, Johannes Debus, was interviewed recently by the San Diego Union-Tribune about the highlights of this concert and how he connects with classical audiences.

Programs, artists and ticket prices are subject to change.

Want to pre-pay for your concert parking? SpotHero is the nation’s leading parking reservation app to book convenient and affordable parking.

To reserve your parking spot, visit the Copley Symphony Hall SpotHero Parking Page and book a spot with rates up to 50% off drive-up.

New to SpotHero? Download the SpotHero iPhone | Android app.