Sunday, March 11, 2018 2:00PM
Copley Symphony Hall

Not On Sale

A Jacobs Masterworks Concert

Edo de Waart, conductor
Jeff Thayer, violin

BACH: Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, BWV 1041
MAHLER: Symphony No. 1 in D Major: Titan

Edo de Waart returns to conduct Gustav Mahler’s first foray into the musical form he would revolutionize, the symphony. Mahler was only 24 when he began writing a work that sought to portray nature and life in all its furious variety, setting the tone for much of his symphonic output. Mahler later said that in composing this work, "A burning and painful sensation is crystallized. What a world this is that casts up such reflections of sounds and figures!" Concertmaster Jeff Thayer opens the program, performing one of the three surviving violin concertos of J.S. Bach.

"What is a conductor, what are we, to do with this towering musical object which contains everything...? We do what de Waart did with astonishing mastery and rock-solid assurance, surely the result of 40-plus years of living with this symphony." Read more of the San Diego Union-Tribune's ecstatic review of this concert!

Programs, artists and ticket prices are subject to change.

Want to pre-pay for your concert parking? SpotHero is the nation’s leading parking reservation app to book convenient and affordable parking.

To reserve your parking spot, visit the Copley Symphony Hall SpotHero Parking Page and book a spot with rates up to 50% off drive-up.

New to SpotHero? Download the SpotHero iPhone | Android app.