Friday, April 6, 2018 8:00PM
Copley Symphony Hall

Not On Sale

A Jacobs Masterworks Concert

Case Scaglione, conductor
Andrei Ioniţă, cello

WAGNER: Overture to Tannhäuser
ELGAR: Concerto in E minor, Op. 85
KODÁLY: Concerto for Orchestra
ENESCO: Rumanian Rhapsody No. 1 in A Major, Op. 11

Edward Elgar’s final significant composition is at the heart of this program, a cornucopia of orchestral colors and national textures. Rising young Romanian cellist Andrei Ioniţă performs Elgar’s by turns confident and darkly introspective masterpiece, a reflection of the composer’s extreme ambivalence about an England forever altered by war. The program is rounded out by a neglected but brilliant French impressionist ballet score by Claude Debussy, an orchestral concerto of Hungarian themes by Zoltán Kodály and a blazing rhapsody of Romanian music by George Enesco.

The San Diego Union-Tribune has published a glowing review of this concert!

Note: program opener has changed from previously published materials. Also, conductor Cristian Măcelaru, previously announced for this program, has withdrawn.

Programs, artists and ticket prices are subject to change.

Want to pre-pay for your concert parking? SpotHero is the nation’s leading parking reservation app to book convenient and affordable parking.

To reserve your parking spot, visit the Copley Symphony Hall SpotHero Parking Page and book a spot with rates up to 50% off drive-up.

New to SpotHero? Download the SpotHero iPhone | Android app.