Sunday, April 22, 2018 2:00PM
Copley Symphony Hall


Choose from the list below to jump directly to another offering of

A Jacobs Masterworks Concert

Jahja Ling, conductor
Behzod Abduraimov, piano

BERNSTEIN: "Times Square: 1944" from On the Town
RACHMANINOFF: Piano Concerto No. 3
SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 5

Two towering masterpieces of Russian classical music dominate this concert, led by Jahja Ling, who makes his debut as the San Diego Symphony’s first Conductor Laureate. After a brief, jazzy opening excerpt from Leonard Bernstein’s On the Town, Ling leads a performance of that “Everest” of piano concertos, Sergei Rachmaninoff’s Third, with rising young Uzbek sensation Behzod Abduraimov as soloist. The concert concludes with Dmitri Shostakovich’s enigmatic, intensely dramatic Symphony No. 5.

Behzod Abduraimove recently performed the "Rach 3" at the Hollywood Bowl. Read the L.A. Times' impressive review!

Programs, artists and ticket prices are subject to change.

Want to pre-pay for your concert parking? SpotHero is the nation’s leading parking reservation app to book convenient and affordable parking.

To reserve your parking spot, visit the Copley Symphony Hall SpotHero Parking Page and book a spot with rates up to 50% off drive-up.

New to SpotHero? Download the SpotHero iPhone | Android app.