Saturday, May 12, 2018 8:00PM
Copley Symphony Hall

Not On Sale

A Jacobs Masterworks Concert

Jahja Ling, conductor
Kelley O'Connor, mezzo-soprano
Martin Helmchen, piano

BARBER: Adagio for Strings
BERNSTEIN: Symphony No. 1: Jeremiah
BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat Major, Op. 73: Emperor

Our update of the famous “BBB” classical formula opens with Samuel Barber’s Adagio for Strings, a work of great power ripe for rediscovery in the concert hall setting. Next is Leonard Bernstein’s Jeremiah Symphony, written in 1942 when the composer was 24 years old and desperate to call out Fascism’s destructive ascendency in Europe. Ludwig van Beethoven, too, had escape from military oppression on his mind as he wrote his glorious Emperor piano concerto while his former hero, Napoleon, laid siege to Beethoven’s Vienna. The Emperor concludes our program.

The San Diego Union-Tribune has published a glowing review of this program!

Programs, artists and ticket prices are subject to change.

Want to pre-pay for your concert parking? SpotHero is the nation’s leading parking reservation app to book convenient and affordable parking.

To reserve your parking spot, visit the Copley Symphony Hall SpotHero Parking Page and book a spot with rates up to 50% off drive-up.

New to SpotHero? Download the SpotHero iPhone | Android app.