Sunday, April 8, 2018 2:30PM
GA Ticket


A Jacobs Masterworks Special Concert at The Village Church in Rancho Santa Fe
(6225 Paseo Delicias, RSF, 92067)

Cristian Măcelaru, conductor
Andrei Ioniţă, cello

ELGAR: Concerto in E minor, Op. 85
KODÁLY: Concerto for Orchestra
ENESCO: Rumanian Rhapsody No. 1 in A Major, Op. 11

Just Announced! For the first time ever, the full San Diego Symphony Orchestra comes to Rancho Santa Fe!

Edward Elgar’s final significant composition is at the heart of this program, a cornucopia of orchestral colors and national textures. Rising young Romanian cellist Andrei Ioniţă performs Elgar’s by turns confident and darkly introspective masterpiece, a reflection of the composer’s extreme ambivalence about an England forever altered by war. The program is rounded out by an orchestral concerto of Hungarian themes by Zoltán Kodaly and a blazing rhapsody of Romanian music by Georges Enesco.

Programs, artists and ticket prices are subject to change.

Parking is FREE