Skip to main content
Your cart has expired
Your order contained expired items and your shopping cart has been emptied.
November 30, 2018 8:00PM - December 2, 2018 2:00PM

Event details


November 30, 2018 8:00PM


A Jacobs Masterworks Concert

Johannes Debus, conductor
Jeff Thayer, violin

LUTOSŁAWSKI: Mala suita (Little Suite)
MOZART: Violin Concerto No. 5 in A Major, K. 219: Turkish
DVOŘÁK: Symphony No. 6 in D Major, Op. 60

Witold Lutosławski wrote his charming Polish folk music-based Little Suite in response to criticism of his First Symphony as being “too modern." Antonín Dvoŕák’s Sixth Symphony brought him international recognition, and shows his developed style following German traditional form infused with Czech folk melodies. Concertmaster Jeff Thayer performs Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s final violin concerto, which contains a hint of international influence in the final movement.

Major funding for this weekend’s performance is provided by Dorothea Laub.

Read more about the life and challenges of San Diego Symphony Concertmaster Jeff Thayer in the latest post to the Symphony's "Cultural Omnivore"blog:

Programs, artists, dates, prices and availability are subject to change.

We're Sorry!
Tickets are no longer available online for this event. Please contact our box office to get up-to-the-minute ticket availability information.

Order Online or by Phone: 619.235.0804