Skip to main content
Your cart has expired
Your order contained expired items and your shopping cart has been emptied.
January 11, 2019 8:00PM - January 13, 2019 2:00PM

Event details


January 12, 2019 8:00PM


A Jacobs Masterworks Concert

Rafael Payare, conductor
Alisa Weilerstein, cello

R. STRAUSS: Don Juan, Op. 20
BRITTEN: Symphony for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 68
SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 10 in E minor, Op. 93

Music Director Designate Rafael Payare makes his only Jacobs Masterworks subscription appearance this season with acclaimed cellist Alisa Weilerstein and the SDSO’s first-ever performance of Benjamin Britten’s heartfelt gift to his new friend Mstislav Rostropovich, the Symphony for Cello and Orchestra. The concert opens with 24 year old Richard Strauss' first big hit, a youthful yet nuanced portrayal in music of the famously heedless serial lover Don Juan and his fateful end.

Payare boldly closes the concert with Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 10, first performed just a few months after the death of Stalin, and representing a daring new public assertion of the Russian composer's artistic identity with music that is by turns whimsical, brutal and madcap joyous. Listen as Shostakovich musically inserts his own name into the core of the work, a distinct "DSCH" refrain he would return to many times over the rest of his career.

The Los Angles Times has published a rhapsodic review of cellist Alisa Weilerstein's recent performances at Costa Mesa's Segerstrom Hall.

Programs, artists, dates, prices and availability are subject to change.

This concert is part of:

We're Sorry!
Tickets are no longer available online for this event. Please contact our box office to get up-to-the-minute ticket availability information.

Order INDOOR SEASON 2020-21 Online or by Phone 619.235.0804